Ice Cube Keeper Engineering Challenge

Ice Cube Keeper Engineering Challenge

Ask: How will my ice cube stay cold?

Next, we imagined what our ice cube keeper would look like, planned, and created it.

I predict that my ice cube will stay frozen 3 hours.

My table:

Time: Measurement: Observations:
9:30 4 cm. Jagged, rectangular
10:11 4 cm. More like a circle now.
12:08 2 cm.  
1:00 2 cm.  
2:30 A puddle  
     

 

I might try this to keep my ice cube from melting as soon as it did. My reflections: I think on one of the designs that worked really well, the person put this special foam together with snow under it. It had a hole for the ice cube, and it stayed cold for a long time. It was like a freezer.

 

To improve my design, I noticed my ice cube didn’t stay cold because there were a lot of holes that let the heat come in, so I would fix that.

 

 

One thought on “Ice Cube Keeper Engineering Challenge

  1. I really liked how small yours was and how it was fun having your ice cube keeper right next to mine. I also like how you said the other third graders design was so good…..Wave’s

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *